Founded in 1924, the University of Trieste is a medium-sized university and may be considered a comprehensive university. It currently features 10 Departments.

Besides the main campus, located in Trieste, there are three detached campuses located in Gorizia, Pordenone, and Portogruaro (Venice).

Teaching quality at the University of Trieste goes at the same pace as the quality of research, and this explains the reason why, over the years, the University of Trieste has been strengthening its role as Research University by investing on PhDs, reinforcing collaborations with national and international research institutions, and hiring scholars and researchers of high scientific level.

Studying and researching in Trieste means working in very close contact with a system of scientific and higher education institutions, this is possible thanks to the integration of UniTS into the Trieste system, which combines research and innovation.