Back to the list

Time to enter the EUPRIO Awards

UA, Euprio

With less than two months before EUPRIO’s 2017 conference in Mannheim, Germany, it is time to polish up entries for the prestigious EUPRIO Awards.

The EUPRIO Awards are a chance to showcase university communication projects that make a real difference and share best practice with colleagues across Europe, writes Nic Mitchell.

Entry is free, but restricted to institutions with at least one representative attending EUPRIO’s annual conference.

Judging and presentations take place at the Mannheim conference, and the winning entries will be picked by the combined votes of an expert judging panel and a ballot of conference participants.

Martin Herrema, President of the EUPRIO Awards Jury

Martin Herrema, President of the EUPRIO Awards Jury

Martin Herrema, President of the EUPRIO Awards Jury, says: “I’m hoping to see another large number of entries from across our member universities, so please do give some thought to presenting your own university’s successes at our conference.”

Deadline for entries is June 12

Deadline for entries is Monday 12 June, 2017, and full details of the entry criteria and the entry form, can be found on the Awards page of our website.

Martin says: “If anyone would like to discuss a possible entry, please feel free to email me at:”

Entries span the whole remit of public relations and communication activities.

Winner invited to give keynote lecture

The winning university will be invited to send one representative to next year’s conference and be invited to give a keynote lecture – with travel and accommodation expenses covered. The second and third placed universities receive a trophy and a certificate.

Last year’s top award went to Hogeschool von Amsterdam – the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences (AUAS) – for their ‘making a point’ campaigns.

The campaigns tackled some of the big social issues facing the city of Amsterdam – from caring for senior citizens to the urgent need to recycle the growing piles of garbage clogging the city streets and showed how university staff and students were working with civic society and companies to find new solutions to everyday problems.

Paul Helbing from Hogeschool von Amsterdam

Paul Helbing from Hogeschool von Amsterdam

Paul Helbing, Director of Communications at AUAS, says: “The EUPRIO competition offers a unique opportunity to talk about your work and get feedback from 250 highly skilled colleagues from across Europe and from an expert jury. You get very valuable tips, suggestions and new perspectives. Winning the top prize has given our team a higher profile and stronger support inside our organization for the campaign and our corporate story.”

Runners-up were Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences in Norway for their ‘research chattering’ series of podcasts.

Third prize went to the University of Edinburgh in Scotland, UK, for their in-depth ‘Media Talent’ multi-platform media training.

Easy to enter

It is easy to enter the EUPRIO Awards, but please note only one entry is accepted per university and only one project per entry.

All you need to do is complete the 2017 Euprio Awards entry form and email it back to the address specified and prepare a poster (maximum A1 size) and other supporting material that represent your campaign or project in the best possible light. The poster and other supporting materials will form an exhibition of entries for the Awards Jury and delegates to view at the conference prior to voting.

Martin says: “We’re looking for entries across the whole range of the university communications mix. These could be social media campaigns, video projects or even traditional printed materials designed and used in an innovative way.”

Among the key points that conference participants and the Awards Jury will be considering are:

  • Project originality;
  • Creativity in concept and execution;
  • Success in meeting defined objectives;
  • Cost, as measured in budget and resources, in relation to benefit.

See more about the 2016 EUPRIO Award winners here.

The EUPRIO Awards Jury for 2017 consists of

Martin Herrema, University of Kent, UK (President of the Jury)

Hannamaija Helander, University of Helsinki, Finland

Ludo Koks, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands

Gudrun Pichler, University of Graz, Austria

Marcin Witkowski, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, Poland


Main photograph: EUPRIO Awards’ 2016 winners from Amsterdam, Oslo and Edinburgh, with association president Christine Legrand (left) and Martin Herrema, president of the jury (right)